Past leaders of the optometry profession in Victoria Second half 20th C

Catalogue Number: 2199
Past leaders of the optometry profession in Victoria Second half 20th C
Category: Photographs
Sub-Category: Photograph People and events
Year Of Publication/Manufacture: 2012
Time Period: 21st C
Place Of Publication/Manufacture: Melbourne
Description Of Item: Colour photograph, 150 x 102 mm, of former officers of the Australian (Victorian) College of Optometry and the Optometrists Association. Those pictured are from left: Michael Aitken (ACO Honorary archivist ACO), Dr David Cockburn OAM (Councillor, Chairman NVRI and Continuing Education Board ACO), Professor Barry Cole AO (Director ACO), Dr Alan Isaacs (Councillor ACO), Bruce Besley (President OAA, ACO), Maureen O'Keefe (recently appointed CEO of the Australian College of Optometry and speaker on the occasion of this luncheon), Ross Harris (Member NVRI Baord and ACO committees), Wolf Gartner (ACO Councillor), Graham Hill OAM ( President ACO), Professor Barry Collin AM (Reader in ACO and UoM Dept of Optometry), Dr John Nathan OAM (Director of Studies and President ACO, William Cooper (seated) (Councillor ACO), Dawn Odgers (councillor and teacher ACO), Duncan Waite, John Strachan (Teacher ACO), Professor Leon Garner OM (Head Dept Optometry Univ Auckland, Lecturer UoM Dept Optometry).Two copies
Historical Significance: This group of retired Victorian optometrists played active roles in the OAA, the Victorian College of Optometry or in academic optometry in the period 1950 to 2000. They met for lunch once a year from 2005. The photograph was taken in May 2013. The group has become known as the gerioptics. See similar photos from different years at cat No 990, 1193, 1839 and 2020.
How Acquired: Donated by Maureen O'Keefe
Date Acquired: May 2012
Condition: Good
Location: Archive office. South wall. Cube 5 Album 3

Search the archive:

Author or Inventor:
Catalogue #
Name of Donor